Home > 1950s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Blues > Dave Bartholomew – Who Drank My Beer While I Was In The Rear? (1952)

Dave Bartholomew – Who Drank My Beer While I Was In The Rear? (1952)

A neat follow up from the last post which featured Amos Milburn ordering at the bar. Moments later, he’s just slipped out round the back and some “low down moocher” has only gone and polished off his beer.

An impassioned plea for alcoholic honesty from the wonderful Dave Bartholomew (whose epoch defining “The Monkey” is already posted here)

I strolled into this bar room with my pipes as dry as chalk

I bought myself a beer and then I had to take a walk

While I was gone, some no good John had drunk up my last dime

I never thought a man would stoop to such a petty crime

 

 

Leave a Reply

