Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Funk > The Temptations – Papa Was a Rollin’ Stone (1972)

The Temptations – Papa Was a Rollin’ Stone (1972)

My eldest daughter (second oldest overall) posted this on Facebook last night and reminded me what a work of genius this track is. Killer bassline, fantastic lyrics.

I like to think she got all her musical taste from me but I fear this might not be the case.

No matter, she was clearly trying to convey the fact that I (that is, “Papa”) reminded her of Mick Jagger and/or Keith Richards (i.e., that I was a Rolling Stone). So, simply, that I reminded her of the aristocracy of the rock’n’roll establishment and not the tedious, strait-laced civil servant that others have caricatured me as … Admittedly, I haven’t checked this interpretation but it seems pretty clear to me. Frankly.

The extended version …

  1. oz yob
    June 3, 2011 at 1:59 pm

    those of us who have seen you post Windsor conference are in no doubt which it is…….

    Like

  2. June 3, 2011 at 2:00 pm

    Very unkind, sir

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

