Home > 1980s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie > The Smiths – Handsome Devil (1983)

The Smiths – Handsome Devil (1983)

A surprise to myself is that this is only the second Smiths song to appear on this blog (will be remedying this over coming weeks!).

I can’t overstate what an impact The Smiths had when first came on the scene. Coinciding with the release of their debut single “Hand in Glove”,  they recorded one of the greatest Peel Sessions of all time (only rivalled by the two by Joy Division in my view).

Although the single was great, the Peel Session tracks were of a different intensity.

Stunning guitar; wry, cheeky, smart lyrics and a bounding bassline.

I know what hands are for and I’d like to help myself …

Three versions for your delectation and pleasure. First, the Peel Session version. #

Then a version from  The Hacienda in November 1983 with Morrissey sporting additional daffodils.

Finally, a clip of some bloke showing you how to play the song on guitar (this is what I will be practicing for the rest of the day …)

  1. Bon.i.well
    June 14, 2011 at 7:53 pm

    The Peel version just makes me reflect on the disappointing production on the first album. Luckily they sorted that out for future albums – I’m looking forward to some later period Smiths.

    Like

  2. June 14, 2011 at 8:13 pm

    Your wish is my command!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

