Home > 1980s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie > The Smiths – There is a Light That Never Goes Out (1986)

The Smiths – There is a Light That Never Goes Out (1986)

Just swapping comments with a chum and was challenged to post some “late period” Smiths. Now he and I both know that he actually meant something from “Strangeways Here We Come”. Perhaps “Paint a Vulgar Picture” or, more likely, “I Won’t Share You” – two quite fantastic tracks.

But, I’m afraid I’ve arrived “mid” career instead. The Queen is Dead is a wonderful LP with many stand out tracks and, in most ways, for most folk, this is the obvious post.

However, this track has always resonated for me on a personal level. I was living in Longsight, Manchester in 1985/86 and my eldest son was born at St Mary’s in central Manchester in late 86. After his mum and he were allowed home, I remember driving them down to Cambridgeshire over a very snowy M62. And this was the soundtrack.

One of the most perfect records of all time.

Take me out tonight …..

The original album track then a dodgy live Smiths version from 1986 and, finally, a surprisingly spot-on version by Morrissey from 2004.

  1. Bon.i.well
    June 14, 2011 at 10:32 pm

    Ah, ‘I Won’t Share You’, possibly my favourite Smiths song. But I agree that this is the quintessential Smiths song, so fair enough.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

