Home > 1980s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Post Punk > Magazine – A Song From Under the Floorboards (1980)

Magazine – A Song From Under the Floorboards (1980)

Magazine were formed by Howard Devoto after he left the original line up of the Buzzcocks in early 1977 (for the Devoto fronted Buzzcocks classic “Boredom”, check here).

The band released four intermittently great LPs between 1978 and 1981 and two killer singles. Their first “Shot by Both Sides” will get an airing in due course but this was always my favourite track of theirs. Taken from their third LP “The Correct Use of Soap”

Apparently, it’s a three verse distillation of Dostoyevsky’s “Notes From Underground” …. great bassline as well.

I am angry, I am ill, and I’m as ugly as sin
My irritability keeps me alive and kicking
I know the meaning of life, it doesn’t help me a bit
I know beauty and I know a good thing when I see it

The original vinyl version and then the Peel Session …

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. August 24, 2012 at 7:34 pm

Leave a Reply

