Home > All - Songs, Tracks & Music > The Hold Steady – Sequestered in Memphis (2008)

The Hold Steady – Sequestered in Memphis (2008)

Just a relentlessly wonderful track.

Setting the standards only ever later achieved by Gaslight Anthem, the Hold Steady are just perfect 21st century punk rock.

The fact that I still have more hair than the singer is a source of cheap satisfaction for someone with the merest fingerhold on credibility ….

Live in the studio, CD version then live on Jools Holland. Every version is stupendous!

In barlight, she looked alright

In daylight, she looked desperate

……

Subpoenaed in Texas

Sequestered in Memphis

  1. Chris
    September 19, 2011 at 10:49 pm

    Hello! Alice told me I’d love yr blog and I do! Although, I think this song:

    Is my favourite off the record! It mentions Youth Of Today and 7 seconds, so it’s gotta be good! Also, you may already know this band but I really wanna recommend Against Me! particually this song:

    And finally, I know Franz Nicholay from a band he used to play in, The World Inferno/Friendship Society, totally different to Hold Steady but pretty awesome aswell. My favourite is ‘The Brother of the Mayor of Bridgewater’ but I can’t find a decent video, so let’s go with the second favourite:

    Hope you enjoy sir!!

    Chris

    Like

  2. September 20, 2011 at 7:54 pm

    Hi Chris,

    Thanks for the great comments and the links; I should be able to personally introduce you to fellow subscribers as they are small in number!

    Really like “Stay Positive” but for “gentlemen” of a certain age, there is something of the genius about “Sequestered in Memphis” when the payoff line/excuse/explanation kicks in “I went there on business” – and the Jools Holland version just makes me wish I was there!

    Never heard the World Inferno/Friendship society – nice track and I will explore further ….

    In the meantime, amongst 200 or so posts I draw your attention to these. Gaslight Anthem at the peak of their powers and The Handsome Family at their most mesmeric:

    https://bestmusicofalltime.wordpress.com/2011/04/09/the-gaslight-anthem-59-sound-2008/

    https://bestmusicofalltime.wordpress.com/2011/05/21/the-handsome-family-amelia-earhart-vs-the-dancing-bear-1996/

    Keep the comments and suggestions coming, I love to hear stuff that is unfamiliar!

    Yours

    Trevor

    Like

  3. July 5, 2012 at 10:08 pm

    Reblogged this on bestmusicofalltime and commented:

    Indie rock perfection!

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

