Home > 1920s, Era, Genre, Jazz > Pine Top Smith – Pine Top’s Boogie Woogie (1929)

Pine Top Smith – Pine Top’s Boogie Woogie (1929)

A fabulous and influential record.

Clarence “Pine Top” Smith recorded “Pine Top’s Boogie Woogie” for Vocalion in Chicago on December 29, 1928.  The world almost didn’t get to hear Smith, as he was killed by a stray bullet while playing at a dance less than three months later, on March 15th, 1929. “Pine Top’s Boogie Woogie” is the first time the modern-day spelling of “boogie-woogie” was used in a title of a published audio recording and was the first boogie-woogie recording to be a commercial hit.

Apart from the wonderfully relentless piano, the track is elevated to the Bestmusicofalltime with a laconically drawled set of instructions as to how to dance …. Take it away Clarence ….

 Now listen here all of you, this is my Pine Top Trouble

I want everybody to dance ’em just like I tell you

And when I say “Hold yourself” everybody get ready to stop

And when I’ve said “Stop”, don’t move a peg

And when I say “Get it”, everybody do a boogie woogie

Hold yourself now  ……… Boogie woogie

Now That’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout

 

(Instrumental)

 

Now when I say “Hold yourself” this time, y’all get ready to stop

And when I’ve said “Stop”, don’t move

When I says “Get it”, everybody mess around

Hold yourself   …….. Mess around

Now that’s what I’m talkin’ ’bout

 

(Instrumental)

 

Say little girl, you, standin’ there with the red dress on

You come right up here where Mr. Pine Top is

Now face the audience

Now when I tell you to hold yourself, you get ready to stop

And don’t move a peg

And when I say “Get it”, I want you to shake that thing

Hold yourself now  …….. Shake that thing

That’s what I’m talkin’ about

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

