Archive

Archive for July 8, 2012

Steeleye Span – Prince Charlie Stuart (1971)

July 8, 2012 1 comment

Another fantastic record from 1971.

I’m not usually much of a fan of folk music but this has more in common with the Velvet Underground than “All Around My Hat”.

Taken from their second LP “Please To See The King”, I’d be delighted for someone to identify a better record by the band.

Especially relevant today. It’s the rain break at Wimbledon and the young Scottish pretender, Andy Murray, could end up on either end of the result. Is he going to repeat the glorious defeat of Bonnie Prince Charlie or, Brian, are the tables going to be turned ..?

Karl Hendricks Trio – Dead Flowers (1992)

July 8, 2012 Leave a comment

In the early 1990s, I was buying pretty much anything that came out on wilfully unpopular US indie labels. Usually signposted by John Peel or NME or Lime Lizard ….

The single, pinnacle of achievement under the Lo-Fi banner was probably The Archers of Loaf’s classic “Web in Front”; previously posted here.

The defining LP was Pavement’s “Slanted and Enchanted”; a track from which is posted here.

Can’t remember why I bought The Karl Hendricks Trio’s debut LP and, looking back this morning, I am somewhat staggered to see that they went on to release another 8 or 9 LPs.

Pretty sure I bought this at “Mr CD” on Berwick Street in Soho, London in 1992. I would head there 2 or 3 times a week during my lunch break and buy large numbers of random CDs for a couple of quid each (The all time bargain was a CD bootleg of Joy Division’s “Live at the Paradiso” for a fiver …).

Anyway, this is the first track on their first LP and I suspect it was, quite literally, downhill all the way after this. Sadly, can only find this very dodgy live cut!

 

