Archive

Archive for July 22, 2012

The Jam – Strange Town (1979)

July 22, 2012 Leave a comment

The third post on Bradley Wiggins’ “mod night”.

By 1979, The Jam were my favourite band and obsession.

I’m going to make the case for 1979 being their peak year. Sure, 1978 with All Mod Cons (“Down in the Tube Station” and the rest) has a strong claim but the next year is the killer.

“Strange Town” and “When You’re Young” are two of the greatest records of all time and “Setting Sons” never fails to hit the mark (for two examples check here and here).

The original single then an unbelievable live version from Bingley Hall on their last tour in 1982!

The Who – Substitute (1966)

July 22, 2012 Leave a comment

On “Mod Night” and following on from The Small Faces, it was always essential for the next post to be by The Who.

A record that always seems to have been way ahead of its time.

Killer riff and killer lyrics …

You think we look pretty good together
You think my shoes are made of leather

But I’m a substitute for another guy
I look pretty tall but my heels are high
The simple things you see are all complicated
I look pretty young, but I’m just back-dated, yeah

Substitute your lies for fact
I can see right through your plastic mac
I look all white, but my dad was black
My fine looking suit is really made out of sack

I was born with a plastic spoon in my mouth
The north side of my town faced east and the east was facing south
And now you dare to look me in the eye
Those crocodile tears are what you cry
It’s a genuine problem, you won’t try
To work it out at all you just pass it by, pass it by

Substitute me for him
Substitute my coke for gin
Substitute you for my mum
At least I’ll get my washing done

The original studio version then a fantastic live version from 1966  …

Small Faces – All or Nothing (1966)

July 22, 2012 Leave a comment

As Bradley Wiggins wins the Tour de France (“Tour of France”, for the English out there), it just has to be mod night. Imagine how much faster he would have gone without the wind resistance from his sideburns?

The summer is building perfectly to the Olympics and Wiggins’ victory in Paris is a remarkable moment. For myself, this gets close to, though doesn’t top, Manchester City winning the Premier Leagues for the first time in 44 years (in the immortal words of Martin Tyler, “AguerrrrRRRRRRRRROOOOO! …. I swear you’ll never see anything like this ever again!“)

If it’s mod night, might as well set the bar as high as possible. Pop rock perfection from 1966.

The studio version then an unbelievable live recording from 1966 ….

