Archive

Archive for July 31, 2012

The Smiths – The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (1985)

July 31, 2012 2 comments

Quite simply one of the best records ever made. Johnny Marr’s classic chiming guitar and a lyric that means as much as you could ever want one to ….

Bought this the day it came out at Piccadilly Records in Manchester and, as Morrissey later observed, me and the town “danced our legs down to the knees” ….

The boy with the thorn in his side
Behind the hatred there lies
A murderous desire for love
How can they look into my eyes
And still they don’t believe me ?
How can they hear me say those words
Still they don’t believe me ?
And if they don’t believe me now
Will they ever believe me ?
And if they don’t believe me now
Will they ever, they ever, believe me ?

The original grainy video and then a wonderful live version that transcends all space and time …..

Eurythmics – Thorn In My Side (1986)

July 31, 2012 Leave a comment

Hmm, struggling to believe that I am about to post this piece of, apparently, overblown 1980s bombast …

But, having said that, it does remind me to post the utterly impeccable, almost identically named, track by The Smiths ..

But, let’s not kid about, the first 45 seconds of this record is complete genius … the 60s girl group/Blondie spoken word intro is sublime.

Although the rest can never exceed the perfection of this initial statement, it remains a pop classic!

Honest!

Feel free to ignore the haircuts in this video ….

 

