Home > 1980s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie, Era, Genre > The Smiths – The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (1985)

The Smiths – The Boy With The Thorn In His Side (1985)

Quite simply one of the best records ever made. Johnny Marr’s classic chiming guitar and a lyric that means as much as you could ever want one to ….

Bought this the day it came out at Piccadilly Records in Manchester and, as Morrissey later observed, me and the town “danced our legs down to the knees” ….

The boy with the thorn in his side
Behind the hatred there lies
A murderous desire for love
How can they look into my eyes
And still they don’t believe me ?
How can they hear me say those words
Still they don’t believe me ?
And if they don’t believe me now
Will they ever believe me ?
And if they don’t believe me now
Will they ever, they ever, believe me ?

The original grainy video and then a wonderful live version that transcends all space and time …..

  1. Son of Sam
    August 6, 2012 at 11:18 am

    More like ‘The boy with the chip on his shoulder’. A shame Johnny Marr never went on to play with a better unit.

    Like

    • August 6, 2012 at 12:33 pm

      “The Boy with a Chip on his Shoulder” sounds like a potential classic …!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

