Richard Hell – Time (1982)

Richard Hell was a founder member of Television but had left the band before the release of “Marquee Moon” – quite simply one of the greatest LPs ever made.

He subsequently went on to record the seminal (single and LP) “Blank Generation” in 1977. The title track being somewhat loosely based on the Bob McFadden all time classic “The Beat Generation” recorded in 1959 and previously posted here.

His next LP, “Destiny Street”, followed five years later in 1982 and “Time” was always for me the standout track.

Although it had been first recorded some years earlier, the Destiny Street version is the one for me.

Couldn’t find it anywhere on the Interweb so posted it myself on Youtube. The Destiny Street version and then the original (never commercially released) recording from 1979.

 

  1. Carolyn
    November 4, 2012 at 6:21 am

    I absolutely love Richard Hell’s music. I don’t find “Time” to be a standout track on Destiny Street (for me that would be either “Destiny Street” or “Downtown at Dawn”) but it’s a great song nonetheless. I once read that he hoped someone like Linda Ronstadt would pick the song up and cover it.

    Like

    • November 4, 2012 at 11:36 am

      Hi Carolyn, thanks for the comment. In response to your call on this, I’ll be spending my Sunday morning reacquainting myself with the whole Destiny Street LP!

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

