Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Era, Genre, Pop > Squeeze – Up The Junction (1979)

Squeeze – Up The Junction (1979)

Quite simply, one of the best records ever made.

I remember buying this on 7″ single when it came out in early summer 1979; I loved it then and have come to love it even more over the years.

Wonderful melody and some of the best lyrics ever committed to vinyl. It starts with:

I never thought it would happen
With me and the girl from clapham
Out on a windy common
That night I ain’t forgotten
When she dealt out the rations
With some or other passions
I said you are a lady
Perhaps she said I may be …

But ends here …

And now she’s two years older
Her mother’s with a soldier
She left me when my drinking
Became a proper stinging
The devil came and took me
From bar to street to bookie
No more nights by the telly
No more nights nappies smelling

Alone here in the kitchen
I feel there’s something missing
I’d beg for some forgiveness
But begging’s not my business
And she won’t write a letter
Although I always tell her
And so it’s my assumption
I’m really up the junction

The original track; then the original video; then, an early appearance on Top of the Pops, and; then a wonderful acoustic version many years later featuring Difford and Tillbrook.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

