Archive

Archive for September 15, 2012

R.E.M. – Nightswimming (1992)

September 15, 2012 1 comment

Contemplating the blog this evening and realised I was way short of acknowledging the genius of R.E.M.

Over the years, so many of their tracks have hit a spot that other bands never ever reach.

Starting with “Murmur” and “Reckoning”, R.E.M. set the bar high from the off. Later, I can remember fantastic days soundtracked by songs from “Out of Time” such as Losing My Religion, Near Wild Heaven and Shiny Happy People.

Their 8th LP, “Automatic for the People” released in 1992 was another slice of alternative/indie perfection. So many great tracks, but this was always the stand-out for me. Nightswimming features Michael Stipe’s vocals over Mike Mills’ piano with some subtle strings added to complete a perfect record.

Nightswimming, deserves a quiet night
The photograph on the dashboard, taken years ago
Turned around backwards so the windshield shows
Every streetlight, reveals the picture in reverse.
Still, it’s so much clearer
I forgot my shirt at the water’s edge
The moon is low tonight …

The original UK video ….

 

 

