Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Genre, Punk > The Stooges – 1970 (1970)

The Stooges – 1970 (1970)

Working my way through the 7 CD version of The Stooges’ Fun House LP and, truth be told, this is revolutionary stuff; the punk rock motherlode.

Looking back, there is one strand of music that makes its way from the blues through Louis Jordan, Wynonie Harris, Carl Perkins, Johnny Burnette, Elvis Presley, Chuck Berry, Buddy Holly and then The Beatles, Stones and beyond. A wonderful lineage whose influence this abridged cast list can only hint at.

Then there is another strand where the roots are less clear; where the new suddenly asserts itself, apparently without precedent.

If the Velvet Underground are Exhibit A here, The Stooges must surely be Exhibit B. Certainly, there are dozens of wonderful garage, surf, punk, psychedelic bands in the 1960s from The Kingsmen to the 13th Floor Elevators via Link Wray, Dick Dale, The Trashmen, Jefferson Airplane, etc, etc. But compared to these, Iggy Pop and The Stooges seem utterly elemental; fashioning the new while those around can only watch.

The Stooges eponymous debut from 1969 is a remarkable record and I will have to post “I Wanna Be Your Dog” and “No Fun” as soon as I can slot them in. But Fun House, from 1970, raises the stakes further and 1970 sees Iggy Pop at the absolute top of his game.  The lyrics only tell half of the story ….

 Out of my mind on Saturday night
1970 rollin’ in sight
Radio burnin’ up above
Beautiful baby, feed my love
All night till I blow away
All night till I blow away
I feel alright, I feel alright

  1. Carolyn
    November 6, 2012 at 4:05 am

    Fun House has to be their best album, in my humble opinion – I don’t think there’s a bad (or a “filler”) song on there. Whenever I ever listen to the Stooges I always wonder why I’m not out there, having the time of my life…

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

