Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Era, Genre, Soul > Bobby Bland – I Wouldn’t Treat a Dog (The Way You Treated Me) (1974)

Bobby Bland – I Wouldn’t Treat a Dog (The Way You Treated Me) (1974)

Really sorry to hear of the death of Bobby “Blue” Bland yesterday at the age of 83.

Fortunately, he left some great records behind him and this is one of his all time classics.

Recorded in 1974, and the second single taken from his Dreamer LP, “I Wouldn’t Treat a Dog” finds Mr Bland at the height of his soul singing powers as he continued his recovery from an earlier period of depression and alcoholism.

Of course, in these days when everything is relative and morals are the basis for negotiation rather than a guide to life, it can be tricky to pin down precisely how badly Bobby was being treated before he decided that it warranted a song. Certainly, a cursory glance at the opening lines suggests that, rather than being treated particularly badly, Mr Bland might just be very fond of dogs. You decide.

When I was up
You would always come around
But when I needed a friend
Oh, you could never be found

I got a hole where
My heart used to be
I wouldn’t treat a dog, no, no
The way you treated me

Great record though!

  1. March 2, 2014 at 2:26 am

    really amazing song. I heard that a year or two earlier in a shop. I was amazed, then collected that in my pc. since then never lost it.

    Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

