Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie, Era, Genre, Rock > The Velvet Underground – I Found A Reason (1970)

The Velvet Underground – I Found A Reason (1970)

What a terrible evening; Joe Hart throws away the match at Stamford Bridge and then I learn that Lou Reed has passed away.

Quite simply, one of the most important people in the history of popular or any music and one of my favourite guitarists of all time.

I’ve previously posted Velvet Underground tracks here and here but this felt like the best record to listen to tonight,

I found a reason to keep living
Oh and the reason, dear, is you
I found a reason to keep singing
Oh and the reason, dear, is you

The original LP version then a great demo version.

  1. Rob Sanguinazzi
    October 28, 2013 at 7:00 pm

    Very sad news. Velvet Underground & Nico is still the best rock album ever made to my ears. Now in a perfect world, we’d have a day off to properly mourn…

    Like

    • October 28, 2013 at 8:15 pm

      Hi Rob, definitely agree about the genius of the first LP … perfect! The “storm” meant I did work from home and, among the emails and phonecalls, I did find a minute or two to listen to a bit of Lou Reed and the VU!

      Like

  2. Nic
    October 29, 2013 at 8:31 pm

    H and I in Amsterdam (where else) on one of our early days city breaks mooching round a little shop and “I found a reason” came on the sound system. just an amazing moment, went weak at the knees.
    Lou saw me through darker times too with “Magic and Loss” … all in all a huge presence in my life, can’t quite believe he’s gone.

    Like

    • October 29, 2013 at 8:38 pm

      Nic, Sounds like a magic moment! I’ve only had a weep at a rock’n’roll death once before (Joe Strummer) but the passing of Mr Reed seems like the end of something special that will never be repeated. T.

      Like

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

