Home > 1970s, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Era, Genre, Rock > The Beatles – Let It Be (1970)

The Beatles – Let It Be (1970)

For many years, I had always felt that this was just below the pantheon of all time Beatles classics.

My mind was changed in the 24 hours leading up to my dad’s death a few years ago.

Having heard that he was in a very bad way, I was driving up to Lancaster Infirmary in the very early hours of a Saturday morning to try and see him. Around Birmingham, I encountered some lunatic on the M6 who seemed intent on killing me rather than letting me pass (at my steady 71 mph …).

Every time I tried to pass, he/she swerved in front of me for 20+ miles. Eventually, I dropped back and winding the X Reg Clio to its full might of 105 mph, I managed to get past. I arrived in Lancaster after he had already slipped from the consciousness that he would never regain. Falling asleep myself around 6am to await news, this song was on Radio 2 and seemed prescient.

Later that day, in the early evening, with life support turned off, the soundtrack for my dad’s passing was early Saturday night TV in the hospital ward. When “Let It Be” turned out to be one of the songs that people were karaoking to, the end had come.

A beautiful record.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

