Home > 2010s, All - Songs, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie, Era, Genre, Rock > Elbow – My Sad Captains (2014)

Elbow – My Sad Captains (2014)

This is a stupendous record.

For some reason, I’ve always regarded Elbow as a bit of a “guilty pleasure” – a band that I couldn’t help liking despite an overriding feeling that I really shouldn’t do so for reasons of fashion or doctrine.

Or maybe it was because the singer looked a little bit too much like Ricky Tomlinson playing Jim Royle in the Royle Family?

I started to really warm to them when I heard singer Guy Garvey in engaging form on BBC Radio 4’s Desert Island Discs (which you can hear,  here). I think the moment I was won over was when he selected “New Grass” by Talk Talk as the first of his 8 records. This is a peerless choice that I have previously posted on this blog  here.

Around the same time, I saw them play this on Later with Jools Holland and was entranced.

Suffice to say that “My Sad Captains” even surpasses the genius of Talk Talk.

The relentless rhythm, the bass, the brass, the soaring vocals and a connection with the live audiences that just makes you wish you had been there.

Another sunrise with my sad captains
With who I choose to lose my mind
And if it’s all we only pass this way but once
What a perfect waste of time

The version from Jools Holland, a Radio 2 In Concert version and then the record.

 

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

