Home > 1980s, All - Songs, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Electronica, Era, Genre, Soundtrack > Vangelis – Abraham’s Theme (1981)

Vangelis – Abraham’s Theme (1981)

On this momentous day for Greece, I thought I’d better post something relevant.

Despite his death coinciding with the election results, I simply couldn’t warrant putting something on the blog by Demis Roussos …. also, despite my late father’s love for Nana Mouskouri, I’m afraid that a prime example of her irritating warbling was also ruled out early on in the deliberations.

This left me with a choice between “Grease” by Frankie Valli (clever wordplay of the highest order), “The Greeks Don’t Want No Freaks” by The Eagles (a record of stupefying banality), something challenging by Iannis Xenakis (could have earned some Brownie points with my avant-garde followers) or, this, a rather nice piece composed by Vangelis for the film Chariots of Fire.

Interestingly, Vangelis was another artist beloved of my late father. Looking back, my dad may well have had the highest proportion of Greek artistes among any record collection outside of Greece itself.

No matter, this is a typically thoughtful piece of mid period Vangelis electronica.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

