Home > 1990s, All - Songs, All - Songs, Tracks & Music, Alternative & Indie, Era, Genre > Yo La Tengo – Tom Courtenay (1995)

Yo La Tengo – Tom Courtenay (1995)

With the summer holidays well underway, I inevitably find myself catching up on a few classics of the British cinema from the first three decades after the second world war. This evening, I watched Darling starring the wonderful Julie Christie who plays a gorgeous but shallow airhead whose inability to settle down and find happiness results in a series of boyfriends, husbands, etc. Taking in a BBC journalist and culminating with an Italian prince (where she becomes Princess Diana …), there are great scenes of London, Paris and Capri as Christie fails to find any meaning in life. A great performance for which she won an Oscar.

Now, admittedly, Tom Courtenay isn’t actually in this film but the song “Tom Courtenay” by Yo La Tengo is an all time favourite of mine and does open with the line “Julie Christie, the rumours are true” and continues thus …

Julie Christie, the rumours are true
As the pages turn, my eyes are glued
To the movie star and his sordid life
Mr. X and his old-suffering wife
I spent so much time dreaming about Eleanor Bron
In my room with the curtains drawn
See her in the arms of Paul
Say it, I can say no more
As the music swells somehow stronger from adversity
Our hero finds his inner peace
So now I’m looking for a lucky charm
With a needle hanging out of its arm

As time goes by I know it’s gonna happen
I know it’s going away
Gonna take its toll, gonna take its toll
Gonna take my time
And I’m thinking about the way things are
And I’m thinking about the way things were
Thinking about Eleanor Bron
And I’m thinking about a lucky charm
And I’m thinking about the needle
Oh, I’m thinking about the needle
And I’m thinking about…

A well deserved entry into the bestmusicofalltime! First the track, then the video from the single and finally a gorgeous acoustic version.



  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

