Home > 2000s, World > Baaba Maal – Cherie (Live) (2008)

Baaba Maal – Cherie (Live) (2008)

A funny old day.

Busy, but lonely.

My left eye had packed in overnight so I was operating on only one hard contact lens today and the bad eye was rather swollen so I thought it best to not go on camera while working.

As a result, I spent hours with people but didn’t really feel I’d connected.

Nonetheless, I subsequently exchanged a few international Facebook messages, had a rather fine veggie fry up for dinner and watched a couple of episodes of the rarely equalled Yes (Prime) Minister while eating. I still laugh out loud to this programme!

Musing on what to add to the blog tonight, I remembered this tune from Baaba Maal‘s mystifyingly obscure On The Road live LP released in 2008. I’d heard the album mentioned positively in a review in one of the music magazines a few years ago and had added it to my wantlist. Seeking to track it down a few weeks ago, I found it surprisingly easy to secure a second hand copy on vinyl – despite being one of only 300 numbered copies.

It really is one of my favourite live albums of all time!

The song “Cherie” originally appeared on Baaba Maal’s Nomad Soul LP released in 1998, but I find that to be a rather turgid and ornate version compared to this stripped back live take recorded a few years later.

Less, really is sometimes more, and this is a classic example.

A mesmeric, magical, mellifluous and melodic gem.

Pop music heaven.

Play reverentially!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment