Home > 2010s, Electronica > Juana Molina – Cálculos y Oráculos (2017)

Juana Molina – Cálculos y Oráculos (2017)

As the snow falls steadily outside, I’ve started my annual trawl through all the “best album of the year” lists.

I’ve started with that compiled by The Wire Magazine and, to be honest, it’s been a bit of a slog so far. The LPs by Actress and Irreversible Entanglements might warrant some further investigation but “Halo” by the wonderful Juana Molina from Argentina has been the first one to really stand out.

I haven’t actually finished Spotifying through the whole album but I had no option to pause to post this stunning track. Elevated to the pantheon of thebestmusicofalltime within 10 minutes of hearing it; a record?

“Cálculos y Oráculos” appears to translate as “Calculations and Oracles” … nope, me neither. The melody is gorgeous; I was wracking my brains as to what it reminded me of and it is “Last Call Fe Blackman” by Sang Hugh, my favouritue reggae song of all time previously posted on this very blog here!

Perfection.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment