Archive

Archive for June 1, 2011

Smudge – Ingrown (1994)

June 1, 2011 Leave a comment

So, after a quick detour to Iggy, I thought I needed to complete last night’s indie rock offerings and also to dip into the Southern Hemisphere and, this time, Australia rather than my normal New Zealand.

One of my favourite bands of the mid 1990s were the vastly underrated Smudge. Classic indiepop from a band fronted by Tom Morgan who co-wrote a lot of the classic Lemonheads tracks with Evan Dando. I never really liked the latter and Smudge always had that rougher element that appeals to wilfully awkward sods like myself.

From the wonderful “Manilow” LP (from which, I will post several other tracks over coming weeks …)

The original album track from 1994 then a dodgy live version from the inevitable reformation.