Home > 1970s, Reggae > John Holt – Time is the Master (1972)

John Holt – Time is the Master (1972)

I’m not sure why I love this record so much.

I have hundreds of reggae CDs, LPs and singles and usually it is easy to point to the relentlessness of the rocksteady, the subterranean pounding of the bass, or the life affirming lyrics of the roots that make the best tracks stand out. (Check here for Ronnie Davis‘ remarkable “False Leaders”, here for Sang Hugh‘s perfect “Last Call Fe Blackman” and here for Bob Marley‘s career high “Redemption Song”).

However, this song fits none of those criteria.

It is unusual in featuring strings and that the vocals are laidback and thoughtful.

But when this came on the playlist the other morning, it really brought me up short.

And I listened to it again.

And again.

So, what’s going on here?

Well, in the end, I suspect it’s its appeal to the fragility and uncertainty of middle age.

As I move into my late 50s, time is beginning to run out.

My genes are not consistently good if I consult the ages at which my sister, parents and grandparents died.

I’ve got so much more that I want to do, hear, see and write about …..

A human life on earth is the greatest blast ever.

But “Time is the Master”:

Time is a-going, why not make yourself a plan
And try to be someone
Hold up your head so eyes can see you’re trying, son

Time is the master
But time can be disaster, if you don’t care
You, young and gay
You, old and grey
Time is the master
But time can be disaster, if you don’t care

The single version and then a beautiful live version.

Give me another 40 years please.

Or 20 at least.

C’mon.

Play loud!!

  1. No comments yet.
  1. December 13, 2021 at 9:31 pm

Leave a comment