Home > 1970s, Electronica > Mike Oldfield – Tubular Bells (1973)

Mike Oldfield – Tubular Bells (1973)

On so many levels this is a wonderful and groundbreaking record.

One of the founding documents of minimalist, ambient, techno, chillout, etc, music. A perfect follow-up to the last post featuring Aphex Twin at his peak.

Also, the first ever release on Virgin Records; this bankrolled Mr Branson for years.

For me, I remember listening to it on the radio in the car as my dad and mum drove me and my sisters up the winding roads to the very top of The Peak in Hong Kong in late 1973 or early 1974 to see Comet Kohoutek. Still recall the otherworldy nature of the music and then the crisp chill on The Peak as we watched the apparently immobile but, ultimately, uncanny Kohoutek staining the night sky. Even more memorable was watching satellites smoothly and silently passing overhead.

Quite a night.

This was the soundtrack.

  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment